Welcome to the course blog for ENG 418: Eco-Collapse!

I have added all students on the classlist as authors on this blog.  Postings on this blog will comprise a significant portion of your coursework, and will provide material for our weekly discussions.   You are welcome to post an introduction to yourself, as well as any preliminary musings on the topic of “eco-collapse”: what you hope to get out of the class, what you think of the concept, etc.   On the first day of class, I’ll review the blog and go over the blog assignments, grading, and blog etiquette.  In the meantime, feel free to peruse some of the links, and enjoy the rest of your break!  See you on Jan 21st!

13 Responses to “Welcome to the course blog for ENG 418: Eco-Collapse!”

  1. Courtney Wendel Says:

    My name is Courtney, and I am a senior this year. I am a Lit and the Environment major. I suspect that this class will give us an interesting look at where the world used to be, and where it is now: thus showing us the degradation of our environment. After I graduate, I hope to write about adventures in Alaska for a magazine, and eventually become published. I am also hoping to piggy-back nature and animal photography – which I deeply love. I hope that this class will give me a better understanding of our environment – both where it is going, and where it came from.

    • CJ Reeves II Says:

      Writing for a magazine would be Sweet!!! I could totally see your pics and writing in National Geographic!!!

  2. Jessica Barranco Says:

    In terms of Eco-collapse, I want to look deeper into the research and literature that is related to the current environment. I am an Environmental Resources student. This will be my first course in FICTIONAL literature about the environment. It will be interesting to combine these ideas with environmental research which I continue to study for my degree program.

  3. coolaccordionest Says:

    Hello
    My name is Summer Christiansen and I’m currently a junior at UAS. My plan is to dual major in Enlgish: Creative Writing and Education with the hopes of becoming a professor at a college. I really enjoy hiking (just being outdoors), photography, playing music, and drawing just to name a few things. I wasn’t exactly sure what this class would be about but when buying my books found myself pretty excited to start of this semester. I’m hoping that this class will use historical views to focus on the environmental problems we have in this world.
    I can’t wait to start of this semester with some great classes and new teachers.

  4. HAROLDS, INTROS, AND ALL THAT

    Hello Sarah and fellow academic laborers,

    Anyone else ready to go to a class where we can talk about Shaun of the Dead and The Book of Eli without being accused of wasting time?

  5. Jessica Barranco Says:

    what readings are needed for Thursday?

  6. CJ Reeves II Says:

    Hello all, I’m CJ Reeves II and I am currently an English Major/ Philosophy minor here at UAS. I also serve as Student Government Vice President at UAS – Juneau campus. My major life goals are to receive my PhD and become a Theologists at a University with a focus around Jewish/ Israel culture. I hope to one day become a professor at a New Zealand university teaching Theology. I originally from Miami, Fl. I love to shop, read, dance, workout, hangout with friends/ boyfriend, and write. I like to think that every individual has a special connection with the universe, so I find it interesting that this class will talk about some of the ways that the earth and humans interact with each other. I must admit I am excited to see where this class will lead.

  7. Brian Nichols Says:

    Brian Nichols, here, I am a senior. I am an English major with emphases of literature and the environment. I chose this degree of study because I enjoy reading environmental literature as well as native-American literature. I was hoping that this class might include some information about environmental justice’s issues.

  8. Shane Rud Says:

    My name is Shane Rud and I was born and raised in Juneau, Alaska. I don’t have an intended major but I’m looking at going into environmental conservation. Recently, I’ve had a growing concern for the state of our environment and the direction it’s heading. Last year at Humboldt State, we read the book Parable of the Sower and that book is what opened my eyes to the irreversible damage we are inflicting on our environment although it’s a fictional novel. I hope through this class I’ll gain more knowledge about our current state and hopefully in the future contribute to a much needed change in this world.

  9. Hello,
    My name is Dale McFarlin. I’ve been a Juneau resident since 1997 hailing from Maryland. I studied Psychology with a minor in Environmental Science holding a B.S from Ferrum College VA in 1994. I’ve been out of school a long time and things have changed a lot. Thanks for your patience. I look forward to exploring the literary expressions of various topics about the impending “Eco-Collapse” My main interest is from a sociological view point and how as a society we view our state of the world. With this view, how accurate is it? Can we really see outside ourselves and make decisions for a “greater good”? From my view, merely identifying what the greater good is seems to be the main subject of contention for why there is such a broad difference and confusion in understanding the grand scope of the nebulous issues facing socio/financial/eco collapse. I hope to be at least a little closer to the answers through this course. As well, responding to “conmano”, look forward to discussing “Shaun of the Dead” “The Book of Eli” and other such expressions.

  10. Amanda Triplett Says:

    Although we have already had our first class and done mini introductions, I’ll expand on mine a bit…..

    A little about myself…. I moved from Ohio in 2004 to attend UAS and never looked back. I love UAS, Juneau, and everything this community has to offer. On Dec 29th my husband and I had a beautiful baby girl, Sidney. I like to play outside and go on walks with my chocolate lab, Piper.

    This is the last class I need to graduate with my BLA in General Studies. Wooohooo!!! When looking over the course schedule, the title of this class instantly jumped out at me. One, it was a class I’d never seen on the schedule before, and two, I’m just another concerned person who would like some questions answered. I’m not sure if this class will answer my questions, but I know for sure I’ll get some great information and conversation from it.

  11. brian Nichols Says:

    This week’s reading about the origins of Apocalyptic Rhetoric, made it clear that contemporary discussion about environmental owes much of its development from history. The Stephen O’Leary reading claimed that its purpose was “to provide a theoretical framework of understanding millennium and apocalyptic discourse” ( ). In doing so he looks to the Greek definition of the word apocalypse and defines it as, “a discourse that reveals or makes manifest a vision of ultimate destiny, rendering immediate to human audiences the ultimate end of the cosmos in the last judgment” (5). He continues to argue that historically apocalyptic theory then, “has function[ed] as symbolic resource to define and address the problem of evil” (6). He elaborates on this line of reasoning by claiming that this rhetoric has become a form of storytelling that has traditional served to build communities, “in which human individuals and collectives constitute their identities through shared mythic narratives that confront the problem of evil in time and history (6).
    Greg Garrard seems to agree with O’Leary as he quotes Lawrence Buell who claims that, “Apocalypse is the single most powerful master metaphor that the contemporary environmental imagination has at its disposal” (Garrard 93). Garrard continues to argue that, “several of the most influential books in the environmentalist cannon make extensive use of the trope, from Carson’s Silent Spring [to] Al Gore’s Earth in the Balance” (93). He even explains that,” Apocalyptic rhetoric is deployed in the activist literature of Earth First” (93).
    Garrard further explains that Earth First! “combined revolutionary inhumanism, apocalyptic beliefs and direct action to protect wilderness areas” ( Garrard 103). He continues to explain that the organization eventually became fractured because some members considered humans as less important than other forms of life while others, “ saw people as differentiated in their responsibility for environmental problems according to gender, class, and ethnicity, and envisaged radical political change through negotiation as well as direct action” (Garrard 104). Garrard’s writing then becomes a good introduction to Martha F. Lee’s Earth First!
    Lee explained that Earth First! Was created out of a discontent for environmental politics believing that Green Peace had become had become too entrenched into government machinery. Earth First! believed that grass roots activism and direct action then was the only solution to environmental problems. Earth First, however, did meet political opposition as right winged factions of government pursued campaigns to discredit them. Frederick Buell’ s book, From Apocalypse to Way of Life then goes into greater details on this subject following the struggle between preservationists and conservationists from the 1980s into present.

  12. While I do care about the environment, wildlife, and nature-I am may be too much of a realist (or is it pessimistic?), in that we Americans as a morbidly obese consumaholic nation cannot be given any amount of incentives to change our ways.

    While money, one-upping the Joneses, and the obsession with having to have the faster most tricked out item-the greed and consumerism lifestyle is just one of the many reasons we won’t be cleaning up our act soon.

    Some other reasons; why should we change when our government is nothing but a spendaholic black hole and so top heavy that it may actually take the world ending to get the reform and necessary changes made?

    There are no role models for businesses or people to follow (that is not to say that there actually isn’t) but that there are none of the top 500 that are 100% and striving to be even better. Its become a joke, a scam, another advertising gimmick but not something to really be believed in (the inside joke).

    From children onward we have and continue to be desensitized to things in our nation, country, and world. We spend more time in front of something cold and unfeeling and less and less time interacting with people.

    Think this saying is apropos for our country, “If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it!”

Leave a Reply

