T.M.I. (Too Many Issues) in Natural Disasters

This is my last blog and I feel somewhat slacking in my responsibilities. Yet, on the other hand, I am struggling with this week’s topic: Natural Disasters.

Don’t get me wrong, I know what Natural Disasters are and as you’re reading this I’m sure you’ve thought of at least a dozen recent Natural Disasters. I know that I could have inserted copious numbers of videos illustrating examples of this week’s topic but I felt it would be trite.

I have never been in a Natural Disaster yet, I can empathize with those who have and survived. Reading Rebecca Solnit’s A Paradise Built in Hell and the article, “We Know This Place”: Neoliberal Racial Regimes and the Katrina Circumstance by Jordan T. Camp and the constant reference to Sunni Patterson’s poem, We Know This Place, I literally cannot grasp the topics discussed and I honestly do not understand where the authors are coming from.

An example of being unable to wrap my mind around these topics is Sunni Patterson’s relating how the citizens of the Ninth Ward (predominantly poor blacks) in New Orleans were mistreated after hurricane Katrina is in direct relation to the days of slavery. Maybe its my naive nature but I never thought of the issues raised by the authors.

A Natural Disaster is horrendous and we all realize that the media cannot and the vast majority do not report without an agenda or bias, so it is no surprise when listening or watching the news that only what has “shock value” and/or looks “good” on camera is reported on.

I don’t understand why these authors and the communities devastated by disasters feel/believe that their governments must rush in and save them. Is it actually written in any of the constitutions of the governments of the world?

I guess for me knowing how the U.S. government has behaved in the wake of Natural Disasters in this country and how it has treated it’s citizens makes it crystal clear that it cannot and should not be relied upon in a community’s time of need.

One Response to “T.M.I. (Too Many Issues) in Natural Disasters”

  1. ajtriplett Says:

    Why should the government rush in and provide aid to those in need? Because it’s the right thing to do. The US has been helping out other countries and communities. Can you imagine if we suddenly stopped? Just look at Hurricane Katrina– we didn’t respond immediately to that disaster and the backlash– we’re still feeling from that event.

    I don’t know if it’s written in any constitutions… but it’s the golden rule that we follow. “Do to others what you would like to be done to you.” I think that is one positive aspect about our government— we do help out other countries when a disaster hits. Now, at times we go in and try and do a little too much, but for the most part the US does a good job helping out.

    I feel this is a practice that should continue. I know billions of dollars are spent helping out other countries– money well spent if you ask me. Rather than directing our efforts elsewhere, we need to help out AND promote a global cleanup. These disasters wouldn’t be so disastrous if we weren’t f*ing up our habitat.

Leave a Reply

